Brandon Bass Wins Red Auerbach Award

CBS Boston

BOSTON (CBS) — It’s been a tough season for the 25-win Boston Celtics, but Brandon Bass received a very nice honor ahead of the team’s regular season finale on Wednesday night.

Bass was presented with the Red Auerbach Award in a pregame ceremony prior to Boston’s game against the Washington Wizards.

The award — named after the legendary coach, president and general manager of the Celtics— has been presented each year since the 2005-06 season to the Celtics player or coach who best exemplifies the spirit of what it means to be a Celtics both on and off the court.

Paul Pierce (2006 and 2013) and Kevin Garnett (2008 and 2012) both won the award twice, with Al Jefferson (2007), Ray Allen (2009), Rajon Rondo (2010) and coach Doc Rivers (2011) the other winners to hoist the trophy.

The NBA Coach of the Year trophy is also named after Auerbach, who led the…

View original post 17 more words

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s