Marathon Survivor Injured As Spectator Will Be Back This Year To Run

CBS Boston

BOSTON (CBS) – Every step and every run is a victory for Lee Ann Yanni. And right now it’s all about the Boston Marathon.

“I’m going to make it across that finish line. Nobody’s going to stop me,” she said emphatically.

Running the Boston Marathon was a goal Yanni set for herself just before last year’s race. She was at the finish line with her husband, Nicholas, to soak in the excitement of the day.

They were standing right in front of Marathon Sports, just steps away from the first explosion.

“I thought it was fireworks… and then I felt something warm hit my leg so I thought maybe something went wrong,” she recalled.

As a physical therapist, Yanni immediately knew her leg was broken but she didn’t realize the true extent of her injuries.

“All I saw was my bone sticking out. My jeans were covering everything.”

Lee Ann…

View original post 330 more words

Leave a Reply

